All-Star Flashback: Spurs Dominate Two Shooting Stars Challenges

Tim Duncan, David Robinson, Becky Hammon
Tim Duncan, David Robinson, Becky Hammon / Ronald Martinez/GettyImages

From 2004 to 2015, the NBA held a Shooting Stars Competition that combined WNBA talent with NBA talent on All-Star Saturday night. The San Antonio Spurs were frequent participants in the event and came away with the championship on multiple occasions.

As one of the teams with both a WNBA and NBA team, San Antonio participated in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009.

The rules were simple: your team had to make a set of shots from varying spots around the basket and wrap it up with a half-court shot to end your time for the round. The fastest team came away with the title. There were different formats over the years, with the competition only being one round in some instances and multiple rounds in another.

No matter the format, the San Antonio team had a couple of dominant performances over the years.

San Antonio Spurs
Tony Parker, Kendra Wecker, Steve Kerr / ROBERT SULLIVAN/GettyImages

2006: Tony Parker, Kendra Wecker, and Steve Kerr set the record

In just their second time in the competition, Team San Antonio came out victorious over Los Angeles, Houston, and Phoenix in 2006. Current Spur and NBA All-Star Tony Parker led the way while the sharpshooting Steve Kerr was the former player representative. Kendra Wecker of the San Antonio Silver Stars rounded out the squad.

In a winner-take-all round, San Antonio set the all-time competition record thanks in large part to Parker nailing the half-court shot on his first attempt. With their time of 25.1 seconds, San Antonio upset the favorites -- Kobe Bryant, Lisa Leslie, and Magic Johnson of Team Los Angeles -- and took home the trophy.

San Antonio Spurs
Tim Duncan, Becky Hammon / Chris Graythen/GettyImages

2008: Tim Duncan Seals Another Trophy for San Antonio

The NBA Shooting Stars Competition in 2008 featured three legendary names in San Antonio: Tim Duncan, David Robinson, and Becky Hammon. Now an assistant coach with the Spurs until the end of this season, Hammon was in the second year of her eight seasons with the San Antonio Silver Stars at the time.

Considering the competition was full of sharpshooters like B.J. Armstrong for Chicago and Chauncey Billups for Detroit, a team with the Twin Towers was probably the favorite to finish last. Somehow, though, Team San Antonio made it through round one after a shaky start by Robinson.

As he did his entire career, Tim Duncan then came in clutch in the final round, burying the half-court shot just in time to seal a second title for the Alamo City.

You can watch every round from both competitions here.

Next. 3 Players Who Should Be Spurs For Life. dark

These weren't the only two titles San Antonio contributed to in the history of the competition, though. In 2010, Becky Hammon won it all with Dirk Nowitzki and Kenny Smith as part of Team Texas.