San Antonio Spurs News

San Antonio Spurs: Injury report vs. Nuggets features five players

By Rob Wolkenbrod
TORONTO, ON - JANUARY 19: Dejounte Murray
TORONTO, ON - JANUARY 19: Dejounte Murray /

The San Antonio Spurs listed five players on the official injury report for Tuesday’s game vs. the Denver Nuggets.

On Tuesday night, the San Antonio Spurs will travel for the latest game of this Rodeo Road Trip. This will be against the Denver Nuggets at the Pepsi Center in Denver, CO, and the second of a back-to-back; the first one saw the Silver and Black lose to the Utah Jazz.

Injuries continue to be a story heading into the All-Star Break, which Tuesday’s game will be the last of before the Spurs have this 10-day wait. Multiple players have missed weeks or months, keeping the rotation in flux.

The Nuggets matchup will be more of the same, as five players are listed on the official injury report: Kawhi Leonard (return from injury management), Rudy Gay (right heel bursitis), LaMarcus Aldridge (sore right knee), Manu Ginobili (rest) and Dejounte Murray (sprained left ankle). Aldridge, Gay and Leonard all will not play, while Ginobili and Murray are “probable.”

Manu Ginobili (rest) and Dejounte Murray (sprained left ankle) are probable for tonight’s Spurs-Nuggets game. LaMarcus Aldridge (sore right knee), Rudy Gay (right heel bursitis) and Kawhi Leonard (return from injury management) are out.

— San Antonio Spurs (@spurs) February 13, 2018

Murray playing Tuesday night would not be a surprise. Ginobili, though, may be a different story. He rarely plays both parts of a back-to-back sequence, so it’s possible head coach Gregg Popovich stills rests his veteran shooting guard, despite the “probable” listing.

With these injuries, look for Murray, Danny Green, Kyle Anderson, Pau Gasol and Davis Bertans to start. This was the top five for the Jazz game, so if the second-year point guard can play, look for Popovich to roll out this lineup.

Next: Top 25 players in Spurs history

The Spurs and Jazz will take the court at 10:30 p.m. ET.