San Antonio Spurs News

Why Gregg Popovich Won’t Win NBA Coach of the Year


The San Antonio Spurs will be great this season—anything else will be a disappointment. There’s a strong chance that the Spurs can win the league championship, which is one of the main reasons that NBA general managers see Gregg Popovich as the best NBA coach.

Popovich is definitely the best coach in the league, and his resume speaks for itself. Popovich is a five-time NBA champion as a head coach ofthe Spurs and has won three NBA Coach of the Year Awards. In each of the 18 seasons Popovich has coached the Spurs, they have made the postseason. That seems unimaginable.

But with all that said, why won’t he win his fourth honor?

The Spurs should win around 60 games, even in an incredible Western Conference. The additions of LaMarcus Aldridge and David West will help the roster significantly.

The problem is the Spurs were already a 55-win team that was expected to contend last season. This makes it harder for Popovich to win the award.

Last season, Atlanta Hawks head coach Mike Budenholzer won the award after the Hawks racked up 60 victories. The previous season the Hawks managed just 38 wins.

In 2015-16, new Oklahoma City Thunder head coach Billy Donovan is my favorite to win the award. The Thunder only won 45 games last season, missing the playoffs for the first time since 2009. The main reason was injuries. Kevin Durant, Serge Ibaka and Russell Westbrook each missed time throughout the year.

Donovan, who previously led the University of Florida, has the coaching ability and the roster talent to guide Oklahoma City to 60 wins. The Thunder have as realistic of a chance as anyone to win the championship.

More from Air Alamo

The 50-year-old has always been a winner. With the Gators, he won back-to-back NCAA titles in 2006 and 2007 and was a three-time SEC Coach of the Year. It’s easy to see the why the NBA would give Donovan the award in his first season, even if the Thunder underachieve and barely make the playoffs.

Other candidates are Erik Spoelstra of the Miami Heat and the Milwaukee Bucks’ Jason Kidd.

At the end of the day Popovich will continue to be the best coach, but he won’t win a fourth Coach of the Year Award in 2015-16.

Next: Betting on the Spurs Regular Season Win Total