Tim Duncan Wins 2014-15 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award

By David Kenyon

Add another accolade to Tim Duncan’s trophy case.

The NBA announced Wednesday that players selected the veteran power forward as the recipient of the 2014-15 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award.

According to Spurs.com: “The award recognizes the player deemed the best teammate based on selfless play, on- and off-court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players, and commitment and dedication to team.”

Duncan received 1,494 points (72 first-place votes) en route to becoming the third player to ever win the honor. Vince Carter of the Memphis Grizzlies tallied 818 (28), while Elton Brand of the Atlanta Hawks recorded 707 (21).

The honor shouldn’t come as a surprise, since Duncan is a tremendous leader on the court. He’s even carried teammates off the court—sometimes literally.

Other finalists included Ryan Anderson (New Orleans Pelicans), Steve Blake (Portland Trail Blazers), Caron Butler (Detroit Pistons), Pau Gasol (Chicago Bulls), Udonis Haslem (Miami Heat), Andre Iguodala (Golden State Warriors), Al Jefferson (Charlotte Hornets), Mike Miller (Cleveland Cavaliers) and Jameer Nelson (Denver Nuggets).

The award is named after Jack Twyman—the greatest teammate in NBA history—and Maurice Stokes, who played together during the 1950s.

Next: Breaking Down San Antonio Spurs 2015-16 Schedule