FIBA Americas Tournament Kicks Off August 30th

By Michael Rehome

The 10-team FIBA Americas tournament tips off onFriday, Aug. 30 from Caracas, Venezuela and continues through Sept. 11.  The 24-team Eurobasket (officially ‘FIBA Europe’) tournament tips on Sept. 4 from Slovenia and continues through Sept. 22.

With FIBA Americas (Aug. 30) and Eurobasket (Sept. 4) tipping off within the week. Three-dozen NBA players will be there, including a FIBA Americas-high four for Canada and a Eurobasket-topping five for Spain. NBA TV — which is set to broadcast 10 games in total — will be there, too.

NBA.Com has set up a FIBA Primer and here is some of the information that will get you all set for this coming tournament:

Team USA automatically qualified for the FIBA Worlds by virtue of its Olympic gold medal-game win over Spain in 2012. Which, in these hoops-starved times,you can look back on right here. But Spain’s in too, as a reward for hosting the event.

From there, the breakdown for the 24-team pool goes like this:

2 spots for the winner and runner-up of FIBA Oceana

3 spots for the Top 3 teams at FIBA Asia

3 spots for the Top 3 teams at FIBA Africa

4 spots for the Top 4 teams at FIBA Americas

6 spots for the Top 6 teams at Eurobasket

4 wild card spots for invited teams

How Do I Watch The Games?

NBA TV will broadcast 10 games between Eurobasket and FIBA Americas — eight live and two on tape delay.

FIBA Americas on NBA TV

Second Round

  • Sept. 5: 5:30 pm ET
  • Sept. 5: 8 pm ET


  • Sept. 10: 5:30 pm ET
  • Sept. 10: 8 pm ET


  • Sept. 12: TBD (Tape delayed from Sept. 11, 8 pm ET)

Eurobasket on NBA TV


  • Sept. 18: 11:30 am ET
  • Sept. 18: 3 pm ET


  • Sept. 20: 11:45 am ET
  • Sept. 20: 3 pm ET


  • Sept. 23: TBD (Tape delayed from Sept. 22, 3 pm ET)

Here is a list compiled by HoopsHype of current NBA players that will be playing for their teams.  San Antonio Spurs will have five players dawning their countries colors.  Cory Joseph (Canada), Nando De Colo (France), Boris Diaw (France), Tony Parker (France), Marco Belinelli (Italy).